Oberon Community Platform Forum

Support => Installation => Topic started by: Laksen on January 24, 2008, 02:27:42 AM



Title: Black screen at boot
Post by: Laksen on January 24, 2008, 02:27:42 AM
Hello,

I've tried to boot the newest release of Bluebottle, but my two main development machines so far just stop after displaying "Oberon loading...". I've had it working on my old computer which happen to be an old Athlon XP, but the two new ones are both Intel Core 2 based machines.

I seem to remember that there's a key combination to enter the boot menu of the bootloader, but I can't find it mentioned anywhere. Does anyone else have any suggestions about what I could do to resolve the problem, other than trying different Vesa modes(I recall that I had problems with that sometimes on my old computer too)

Regards,
Jeppe Johansen


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: staubesv on January 24, 2008, 09:44:54 AM
Dear Jeppe Johansen,

Have a look at http://www.ocp.inf.ethz.ch/wiki/Documentation/Installation. If this doesn't help you, report back here.


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: leledumbo on March 06, 2008, 05:30:43 AM
Well, since I've got the same problem, I guess it's not wrong to post mine here. I've followed EVERYTHING stated in http://www.ocp.inf.ethz.ch/wiki/Documentation/Installation#toc8 (http://www.ocp.inf.ethz.ch/wiki/Documentation/Installation#toc8), but none seems to solve the problem. I have a computer with the following specs:

Intel Pentium D 2.8 GHz
512 MB of RAM
120 GB of SATA HD
nVidia GeForce 7200GS

I've partitioned my HD into 4 parts: 10 GB (Windows XP), 20 GB (Freespire), 5 GB (AOS), and the rest is a shared partition. I've downloaded AOS rev 963 (crazy fresh) in the form of AosCD.zip, which is an .iso file, burn it and restarting my computer with the CD in. After "Oberon loading..." there's a blink and then nothing happened. Following http://bluebottle.ethz.ch/faq.html (http://bluebottle.ethz.ch/faq.html), I hold the shift key and the configurarion strings appear. Try setting the strings manually as stated above but the problem persists. Finally, I try to trace the boot process by setting TraceMode=1 and Init=<empty>. Then I got the following output:
Quote
Intel MP ...
Processor 0, features ... ID 0
Processor 1, features ... ID -1
P0 starting P1, P1 running
P0 recognized P1
P0 starting P2, P0 timeout on P2
P0 scheduling P1
and that's all. I left the full output, so I just write what I remember, sorry.


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: staubesv on March 06, 2008, 09:04:46 AM
It seems that the number of processors is not detected correctly  (P2 is processor 3). Try to limit the number of processor to 2 by setting the configuration string MaxProcs to 2. If this doesn't help, turn off multiprocessor support by setting it to -1.

For a more precise diagnostics, I would need more trace output.


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: soren renner on March 07, 2008, 04:27:29 AM
root@siduxbox:/home/sr# infobash
CPU[Dual Intel Core2 Duo E4400 @ clocked at 600.000 Mhz]  Kernel[linux 2.6.24-2.6.24.3.slh.1-sidux-amd64 x86_64]  Up[-2:03-]  Mem[-615.3/1510.2MB-]  HDD[-330GB(44%used)-]  Procs[-98-]  Client[Shell]


This box will only boot BB with MAXPROCS=-1. I use UnixAos instead -- to get the speed of both cores -- but it doesn't feel like Native BB. I think the mouse is sluggish and the GC pauses are noticeable. Anyhow, the maxprocs thing is annoying. I am going to want to run BB on a manycore box soon.

Oh, also, I have to connect an old CD when I boot native BB because it won't work withthe DVD-R.


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: leledumbo on March 13, 2008, 02:35:17 AM
Here's the complete trace output:
Quote
TracePort=1
TraceBPS=19200
TraceMem=0B8000H,2,80,25
BootVol1=RAM RamFS 8000 4096
BootVol2=CD AosFS #0,R
RamFS=AosRAMVolumes.New AosDiskFS.NewFS
AosFS=AosDiskVolumes.New AosDiskFS.NewFS
Boot1=AosKeyboard.Install;AosMousePS2.Install
Boot2=AosDriverDatabase.Enable;AosUsbHubDriver.Install;AosUsbEhci.Install;AosUsbUhci.Install;AosUsbOhci.Install;
Boot3=WindowManager.Install;
Boot4=AosLoopback.Install;Aos3Com90x.Install;AosRTL8139.Install;AosIntel8255x.Install;AosAM79C970.Install
Boot5=Autostart.Run
Boot6=AosInitNet.Init
Boot=AosDisplayLinear.Install
Init=117
CacheSize=1000
AutoNetConfig=1
ATAPIForceP10=1
DWidth=1024
DHeight=0768
DDepth=0016
And after setting MaxProcs=2 and Init= ,I got:
Quote
Intel MP Spec 1.1
Processor 0, APIC014, ver 15.6.5, features-40140401, ID 0
Processor 1, APIC014, ver 15.6.5, features-40140401, ID -1
P0 starting P1P1 running
, P0 recognized P1
P1 scheduling
And after that, nothing happened. Setting MaxProcs=2 only, and the blank screen comes again...


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: staubesv on March 13, 2008, 08:48:32 AM
Have you tried to manually set the amount of system memory to 128MB using the configuration string ExtMemSize, e.g. ExtMemSize=128 ? Also, ATADetect=legacy would be worth a try.
If this doesn't work, set the configuration string TraceModules=1 and post the (more verbose) trace output here.


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: leledumbo on March 14, 2008, 03:32:36 AM
Yes, but not 128. I have a 512 MB of RAM, so I just set ExtMemSize=512. Is it important to set it to 128? I've tried ATADetect=legacy, too. No effect. I'll try TraceModules=1. Should I just set it or I still have to set other config strings?


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: staubesv on March 14, 2008, 08:54:31 AM
You should set ExtMemSize to a value which is less than the amount of memory your machine has. I suggested 128MB since it is enough for AOS and most machines have >>128MB.

TraceModules=1 will enable additional trace output for each module that is loaded. You should use it together with Init= and TraceMode=1.


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: leledumbo on March 18, 2008, 03:56:51 AM
Quote
TraceModules=1 will enable additional trace output for each module that is loaded. You should use it together with Init= and TraceMode=1.
No use. It still stops at
Quote
Intel MP Spec 1.1
Processor 0, APIC014, ver 15.6.5, features-40140401, ID 0
Processor 1, APIC014, ver 15.6.5, features-40140401, ID -1
P0 starting P1P1 running
, P0 recognized P1
P1 scheduling
I've also set ExtMemSize=128, too.


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: staubesv on March 18, 2008, 10:01:48 AM
Hmm... Do you get more trace output when using TraceModules=1, TraceMode=1, Init= AND MaxProcs=-1 ?


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: leledumbo on March 24, 2008, 03:17:48 AM
Quote
Hmm... Do you get more trace output when using TraceModules=1, TraceMode=1, Init= AND MaxProcs=-1 ?
Yes, I don't only get more, but MUCH MORE! What do I need to find from this loooooooong output?


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: staubesv on March 24, 2008, 03:48:47 PM
The best thing would be if you could post the complete trace output but this only works when doing tracing over a serial port conneciton. If you have a second computer available (can run a different OS), then you could do the following steps:
- Connect both computers using a null-modem cable
- Set TraceModules=4, TracePort=<Your serial port number, e.g. 1>, TraceBPS=115200 and MaxProcs=-1
- on the second computer, open something like HyperTerminal (or some other application that displays the incoming data of a serial port connection), set the correct serial port number and Baudrate=115200 (data bits, stop bits,... should work with default settings)
- continue the boot process on the AOS machine

If you don't have two computers: Can you post a picture of the last screen of the trace output here?


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: Laksen on March 24, 2008, 11:53:28 PM
It's been some time since last, I kind of gave up last time I tried to get it to boot. Now I've made it boot on my laptop at least.

If I did the trick using tracemode=1, tracemodules=1,init= I would get alot of output and it would end with something about the installation of the OHCI driver. Then I did the same with MaxProcs=-1, Init=117, Boot2=AosDriverDatabase.Enable and it would actually boot. But now I just had problems accessing the harddrives. It would detect them properly and all partitions were listed after alot of waiting but I couldn't write to them, even after partitions.unsafe were called. Then I tried the whole booting process again, this time with IDE4=nodma. This time it would actually try to format the harddrive but it failed when it tried to boot the next time. This time I just gave up :-[


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: leledumbo on March 26, 2008, 04:49:25 AM
I've finally made it installed. I used to set all those workaround together (Init= , ExtMemSize=128, MaxProcs=-1, etc), but last night I used ONLY MaxProcs=-1 and it works! But first, I must unplug my USB Flashdrive. With it plugged in, I still got the blank screen. Now I have another problem.
After using the Installer (no write to MBR, no boot manager), I try to add AOS to GRUB menu-normal.lst:
Quote
#sda5, AOS
title AOS 25.02.2008
root (hd0,4)
chainloader +1
When I select it, the string "OBERON loading" appears then blank screen for a second, then blank blue screen (not really blue, purple maybe?), then... nothing happened. I've tried using MaxProcs=-1 again, but this time it didn't work. Should I trace it again?


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: staubesv on March 27, 2008, 09:10:43 AM
The blank blue screen means that the window manager started. The graphical installer enables automatic hardware detection as default. Try to set the config string HardwareDetection=0 to disable it (only the legacy drivers, i.e. PS/2 Mouse and Keyboard will be loaded then).

Remark: If you set Init=, the system will not switch to graphics mode, i.e. it won't boot. This is only useful in combination with TraceMode=1 (trace output on screen in text mode).


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: leledumbo on March 28, 2008, 08:56:47 AM
Update: AOS boots OK with MaxProcs=-1, don't know how

Here's the result when tracing again (without MaxProcs=-1):
Quote
Commands.Runner.@Body pc=671 [0000029FH]
@Self=00799C90H
{P cpuid= 1, pid= -1
Exception during command execution.
Default font installedOpenType 0.45 BBPort /3.12.2004 eos, pl
It's annoying to know that I have to set MaxProcs=-1 EVERYTIME I want AOS to boot.


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: staubesv on March 28, 2008, 09:09:58 AM
You don't have to! After entering MaxProcs=-1 in the boot loader's prompt, just press 'w' followed by 'return' to make the change persistent. Then continue the boot process by pressing 'c' followed by 'return'.

Since USB seems to cause problems on your machine, it would be nice to know what USB host controllers you have. Could you please attach the output of the command AosPCITools.Scan ~? Also, does the USB flash drive when attaching it after AOS has booted?


Title: Re: Black screen at boot
Post by: leledumbo on April 03, 2008, 03:06:05 AM
Sorry for the long reply, I was upgrading to the latest crazy fresh release. Here's the output of PCITools.Scan ~:
Quote
PCI bus enumeration:

Bus 0, device 0, function 0: class/rev 06000000, vendor/device 10390671, status/cmd 22000107

   Class: Bridge, Sub-class: Host bridge

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: 671MX

   Driver: n/a

      IRQ255



Bus 0, device 1, function 0: class/rev 06040000, vendor/device 10390004, status/cmd 00100407

   Class: Bridge, Sub-class: PCI bridge, ProgIntfc: Normal decode

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: PCI-to-PCI bridge

   Driver: n/a



Bus 1, device 0, function 0: class/rev 030000A1, vendor/device 10DE01D3, status/cmd 00100107

   Class: Display controller, Sub-class: VGA compatible controller, ProgIntfc: VGA controller

   Vendor: nVidia Corporation, Device: G72 [GeForce 7300 SE]

   Driver: n/a

      IRQ10, INTA

      16MB 32-bit memory at FD000000-FDFFFFFF

      256MB prefetchable 64-bit memory at D0000000-DFFFFFFF

      16MB 64-bit memory at FC000000-FCFFFFFF

      ROM atFEBE0000



Bus 0, device 2, function 0: class/rev 06010001, vendor/device 10390968, status/cmd 0200000F

   Class: Bridge, Sub-class: ISA bridge

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: SiS968 [MuTIOL Media IO]

   Driver: n/a



Bus 0, device 2, function 5: class/rev 01018001, vendor/device 10395513, status/cmd 02100005

   Class: Mass storage controller, Sub-class: IDE interface

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: 5513 [IDE]

   Driver: AosATADisks.Install

      0GB I/O at 00000000-FFFFFFFF

      0GB I/O at 00000000-FFFFFFFF

      0GB I/O at 00000000-FFFFFFFF

      0GB I/O at 00000000-FFFFFFFF

      16B I/O at 0000FFE0-0000FFEF



Bus 0, device 3, function 0: class/rev 0C03100F, vendor/device 10397001, status/cmd 62800117

   Class: Serial bus controller, Sub-class: USB Controller, ProgIntfc: OHCI

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: USB 1.0 Controller

   Driver: AosUsbHubDriver.Install;AosUsbOhci.Install

      IRQ11, INTA

      4KB 32-bit memory at FBFFF000-FBFFFFFF



Bus 0, device 3, function 1: class/rev 0C03100F, vendor/device 10397001, status/cmd 62800117

   Class: Serial bus controller, Sub-class: USB Controller, ProgIntfc: OHCI

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: USB 1.0 Controller

   Driver: AosUsbHubDriver.Install;AosUsbOhci.Install

      IRQ5, INTB

      4KB 32-bit memory at FBFFE000-FBFFEFFF



Bus 0, device 3, function 3: class/rev 0C032000, vendor/device 10397002, status/cmd 02900106

   Class: Serial bus controller, Sub-class: USB Controller, ProgIntfc: EHCI

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: USB 2.0 Controller

   Driver: AosUsbHubDriver.Install;AosUsbEhci.Install

      IRQ15, INTC

      4KB 32-bit memory at FBFFD000-FBFFDFFF



Bus 0, device 4, function 0: class/rev 02000002, vendor/device 10390191, status/cmd 02100007

   Class: Network controller, Sub-class: Ethernet controller

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: 191 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter

   Driver: n/a

      IRQ3, INTA

      128B 32-bit memory at FBFFCC00-FBFFCC7F

      128B I/O at 0000EC00-0000EC7F



Bus 0, device 5, function 0: class/rev 01018503, vendor/device 10391183, status/cmd 02100005

   Class: Mass storage controller, Sub-class: IDE interface

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: SATA Controller / IDE mode

   Driver: AosATADisks.Install

      IRQ10, INTA

      8B I/O at 0000E800-0000E807

      4B I/O at 0000E400-0000E403

      8B I/O at 0000E000-0000E007

      4B I/O at 0000DC00-0000DC03

      16B I/O at 0000D800-0000D80F

      128B I/O at 0000D400-0000D47F



Bus 0, device 6, function 0: class/rev 06040000, vendor/device 1039000A, status/cmd 00100104

   Class: Bridge, Sub-class: PCI bridge, ProgIntfc: Normal decode

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: PCI-to-PCI bridge

   Driver: n/a



Bus 0, device 7, function 0: class/rev 06040000, vendor/device 1039000A, status/cmd 00100104

   Class: Bridge, Sub-class: PCI bridge, ProgIntfc: Normal decode

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: PCI-to-PCI bridge

   Driver: n/a



Bus 0, device 15, function 0: class/rev 04030000, vendor/device 10397502, status/cmd 02100006

   Class: Multimedia controller, Sub-class: Audio device

   Vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS], Device: Azalia Audio Controller

   Driver: n/a

      IRQ11, INTA

      16KB 32-bit memory at FBFF4000-FBFF7FFF



13 devices found
In the latest release, I found that my dual processor & USB problem aren't yet fixed. But from the trace output, the window manager starts even without MaxProcs=-1. No exception occurs, but AOS still won't boot.