Oberon Community Platform Forum
November 22, 2019, 05:51:12 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installation on QEMU (windows)  (Read 8559 times)
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« on: May 13, 2009, 04:53:48 PM »

Today try install A2mini.ISO on QEMU
Step 1:
 
Code:
qemu-img.exe create bb.img 100M
Step 2:
Code:
qemu.exe -L . -m 128 -hda bb.img -cdrom A2mini.iso -boot d -soundhw all -localtime -M pc

trap attached
What Went Wrong?


* Clip_2.jpg (84.72 KB, 726x426 - viewed 890 times.)
« Last Edit: May 17, 2009, 10:00:32 AM by BohdanT » Logged
tfrey
Newbie
*
Posts: 13


« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2009, 08:53:56 PM »

It fails when calling into the bios32 function. This could be a problem in the qemu BIOS (Bochs BIOS). It could also be a segment/privilege setup issue. Disabling the PCI detect (in the A2 Kernel) allows it to boot, but obviously there is no PCI support then. Much older versions of Qemu worked in that respect.
Logged
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2009, 09:01:41 PM »

thanks, tomorrow will try.

Quote
Much older versions of Qemu worked in that respect.
strange... Huh

I wonder why the A2 problem with virtual machines?
This is a problem with virtual machines, or because of the uniqueness of A2?
« Last Edit: May 13, 2009, 09:03:49 PM by BohdanT » Logged
leledumbo
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 96



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2009, 09:10:51 AM »

Quote
This is a problem with virtual machines, or because of the uniqueness of A2?
Well, since most OSes runs fine under Qemu, I think it's because of the uniqueness of A2. What makes it so unique that prevent it from booting correctly under virtual machines anyway?
Logged
staubesv
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 387



« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2009, 10:11:57 AM »

Hmm... Since PCI does work on real machines - I've seen running it on many(!) real machines -and virtual machines are supposed to exhibit the same behaviour as real machines, this seems to be a problem within QEMU's BIOS emulation.

Uniqueness: The emulators are most likely tested using popular operating systems...

Nevertheless, the problem is strange: PCI.Mod can detect a BIOS32 Service Directory (entry: 0FA0D0H, revision: 0, length: 16, checksum: 93 which seems all reasonable), but then a General Protection Fault (Trap -13) happens when calling DetectPCI -> FindBios32Service -> BiosServiceDirectory.
Logged
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2009, 11:07:30 AM »

Disabling the PCI detect (in the A2 Kernel) allows it to boot

How to do it? I have not found how to disable PCI Detect  Huh
Uniqueness: The emulators are most likely tested using popular operating systems...

100%  Smiley
Logged
staubesv
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 387



« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2009, 11:56:40 AM »

There is no way to disable PCI support except to not load any module that imports PCI.Mod (which cannot be done in this case since ATADisks imports PCI) -> tfrey has "manually disabled PCI" by changing the code of PCI.Mod  Cool

Logged
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2009, 12:31:41 PM »

Quote
"manually disabled PCI"

Oh no  Cheesy I was lazy, that would make it Wink
Logged
staubesv
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 387



« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2009, 12:47:20 PM »

Update: Since revision 2273, PCI support can be disabled by setting the configuration string "DisablePCI=1".

To use the ATADisk driver, you also have to set the config string "ATADetect=legacy". In legacy mode, the ATADisk driver assumes two IDE controllers at fixed I/O addresses / IRQ lines - otherwise, this information would be read from the PCI configuration space.
Logged
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2009, 01:04:51 PM »

Thanks, did not expect such speed  Smiley
   
Logged
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2009, 09:59:54 PM »

sorry for the pause....

It works!
with:
"DisablePCI = 1"
"ATADetect = legacy"

I do not know what to compare, but I have no particular problems. The speed seems normal. Work can be.

Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!