Oberon Community Platform Forum
November 19, 2019, 06:30:31 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: OS Installation  (Read 12616 times)
staubesv
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 387



« Reply #15 on: July 15, 2010, 09:23:45 AM »

If you find some more time, download the attached ISO image and try to boot from it. This images just contains the A2 kernel and a shell.

* A2Diagnosis.iso (972 KB - downloaded 325 times.)
Logged
w3a537
Newbie
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #16 on: July 16, 2010, 04:40:34 AM »


MaxProcs=-1 doesn't help.

The diagnostic ISO CDDVD says:

A2 BOOT SHELL V1.0 and gives me an
A2> prompt

I can type in commands at A2> but I don't know what commands to issue.

A2> help

This yields an error message. But this is a step forward.

Steve ...

Thank you.
 
Logged
staubesv
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 387



« Reply #17 on: July 16, 2010, 10:20:52 AM »

Hmm... this is weird. The fact that the shell prompt appears implies that the A2 kernel has been successfully loaded and initialized. Also, text mode output obviously works on your computer. This again implies that screen tracing (Init=, TraceMode=1) also should work on your computer...

Maybe the ATADisks driver (not contained in A2Diagnosis.iso) caused the system reboot and you therefore could not see any text output.

www.bluebottle.ethz.ch/downloads/A2Test.zip contains another CD-ROM image. This time, an A2 mini that comes with a GUI.

Would be interesting to know whether you can boot from this image...
Logged
w3a537
Newbie
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #18 on: July 18, 2010, 05:40:49 AM »


This A2 Test CD booted just fine to a GUI.

What does this tell us ??

Steve ...
Logged
staubesv
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 387



« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2010, 08:49:53 AM »

Quote
What does this tell us ??

The main difference between the CD-ROM images you've downloaded and tried before are the configuration strings.
Boot from the A2Test image while scrolllock is enabled (or hold down shift while booting) and have a look at the configuration strings.

Try to set exactly the same for the other images. This should work.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!