Oberon Community Platform Forum
November 19, 2019, 07:19:27 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Partitioning HD with Oberon  (Read 5582 times)
dukester
Full Member
***
Posts: 140


On Faceflow I'm dukester


« on: June 30, 2010, 08:57:26 PM »

Hello all you FIFA viewers.....

 Cheesy

No times for hacking Oberon these days....

OK! I've got a working LiveCD for A2

The HD on the machine that A2 will be living on, is currently 100% NTFS - 74.5G

I want to have:

NTFS   - 15.5G
Linux   - 25G
BSD     - 20G
A2       - 10G
FAT32  - 4G 

So, I'm shrinking the the current partition down, and creating new partitions. I want to boot from either the top four OS. Can I do _all_ the partitioning with A2's "Partitions" tool?  How? I should write a mini-HOWTO and this topic after I'm done.

Or is there a better way? TIA...
Logged

duke
Bernhard T.
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 164


« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 01:03:38 PM »

as far as I know, you can't shrink a partition with A2 tools.

Bernhard
Logged
dukester
Full Member
***
Posts: 140


On Faceflow I'm dukester


« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2010, 02:42:52 PM »

@Bernhard T.

OK! Thanks for the warning....

If I manage to successfully shrink the NTFS partition, I know that I can create an A2 partition from A2, and probably a FAT12 or FAT16 partition - as Sven suggested. As for the Linux and BSD partitions, should I simply leave a large enough chunk of the HD NOT partitioned so that Linux can find it and create a partition itself, or should I create Linux and BSD partitions from A2 tools?
Logged

duke
Bernhard T.
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 164


« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2010, 05:35:53 PM »

As for the Linux and BSD partitions, should I simply leave a large enough chunk of the HD NOT partitioned so that Linux can find it and create a partition itself, or should I create Linux and BSD partitions from A2 tools?

I would leave a large enough free chunk and let BSD & Linux tools create their partition ...

Bernhard
Logged
dukester
Full Member
***
Posts: 140


On Faceflow I'm dukester


« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2010, 06:20:27 PM »

Cool! Thanks...
Logged

duke
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!