Oberon Community Platform Forum
December 10, 2019, 09:48:59 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: A2 boot trouble  (Read 8241 times)
Fortrix
« on: September 14, 2010, 08:31:05 AM »

Hi,
I'm a newbie to Bluebottle and decided to try it out. I've downloaded the latest release image from the A2 download page and burned it onto the CD, and the OBL loader command line appears after booting. After pressing 'c' (continue) it just goes resetting the machine. I've tried different OBL config combinations and have noticed that when I force OBL to use single-processor mode (by specifying MaxProcs=-1) it doesn't reset the machine but just freezes - no access to any medium and the black screen. The same behavior is present when I boot from USB flash drive (dd'ed HDD image downloaded from the community page).

My laptop (MSI M670X) specifications:
CPU: AMD Sempron Mobile 3600+ stepping 2, 2GHz, 256 KB cache
RAM: 980 MB
Video: NVidia GeForce Go 6100
HDD: SCSI ATA WDC WD1200BEVS-2, 120 GiB
CD-ROM: Optiarc  DVD RW AD-7530B Revision NX02

If needed, i'll provide any other configuration details.
So, how to configure OBL in order to boot A2 correctly? Thanks in advance.
staubesv
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2010, 09:34:36 AM »

Try to set these configuration strings:

MaxProcs=-1
ExtMemSize=512
ATADetect=legacy

If this doesn't help, try:

MaxProcs=-1
TraceMode=1
Init=

This enables screen tracing which could help to find out what fails...

Note: By setting a config string to no value (empty string), it is deleted
Fortrix
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2010, 04:36:19 PM »

Try to set these configuration strings:

MaxProcs=-1
ExtMemSize=512
ATADetect=legacy

If this doesn't help, try:

MaxProcs=-1
TraceMode=1
Init=

This enables screen tracing which could help to find out what fails...