Oberon Community Platform Forum
December 16, 2019, 02:37:50 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: use Aos as windows manager  (Read 11047 times)
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« on: February 04, 2013, 10:34:36 PM »

Dear Guenter!

Recently went to work on Ubuntu (12.04).
LinuxAos works great!

I wanted to ask:
For some applications, I would like to use Aos as windows manager (i.e. use Aos under pure X)

Is it possible?
Logged
gfeldm
Moderator
Newbie
*****
Posts: 29


« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2013, 11:23:37 AM »

I have just tried it. It worked.

But as Aos asks the X window manager for the visible display size it
started with a wrong size. So you have to specify the right size with
the 'DisplaySize' parameter in the start script.

-Guenter
Logged
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2013, 02:27:19 PM »

Thank you!

Tell me please what linux configuration file need to change, that would automatically start LinuxAos (as X window manager)?

I tried to change / etc/11/default-display-manager but it did not give the desired result  - Sad

Best regards,
Bohdan.
Logged
gfeldm
Moderator
Newbie
*****
Posts: 29


« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2013, 03:02:19 PM »

Hi Bohan,

LinuxAos can be started without the X window manager but it cannot
act as/(replace the) X window manager. The Aos window manager can
only control the Aos applications in the Aos window.

-- Guenter
Logged
sage
Full Member
***
Posts: 170



WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2013, 07:50:40 AM »

But, it's only question of time to fill the Aos with all needed applications Wink
Logged
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2013, 02:09:54 PM »

Hi Guenter!
LinuxAos can be started without the X window manager but it cannot
act as/(replace the) X window manager.  


I mean that Linux is not launched Aos...
I understand that:
Quote
The Aos window manager can only control the Aos applications in the Aos window.
I wish that it would have X-server loads LinuxAos without GNome, KDE, LXDE... etc
I can not find how to do it, can tell me?

Best regards,
Bohdan.
Logged
gfeldm
Moderator
Newbie
*****
Posts: 29


« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2013, 06:11:57 PM »

Hi Bohdan,

I'm using a system running GNOME 3.30.2. When trying login with GDM
you can - after typing the login name - select 'gnome' or 'xterm' in the
bottom bar. If you select 'xterm' only the X-server and an xterm get
loaded. From the xterm you can start Aos.

-- Günter
Logged
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2013, 09:28:27 PM »

Hi Guenter!

Thanks, I got it!

Best regards,
Bohdan.
Logged
peasthope
Full Member
***
Posts: 100


WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2013, 07:27:00 PM »

Guenter wrote,
Quote
... system running GNOME 3.30.2.

Also works in Debian Wheezy where LXDE had been used.  I removed xdm and at the text console, "startx lxterminal".  UnixAos starts from there.  Aos fit the screen OK.  The dimensions of the Oberon subsystem had to be specified smaller than the automatic dimensions.

Regards,             ... Peter E.
Logged
BohdanT
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 271


Life is difficult, but fortunately is short!


WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2013, 09:01:57 PM »

Thank you Peter for the information!
Logged
Bernhard T.
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 164


« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2013, 10:17:32 AM »

going back into a very old book about X11 (1994, years before Gnome/KDE came up), it says in the section entitled "Basic X Start-Up Files":

Once you have the X server started, you need to define the user's X environment. With xdm, the basic way is to create a $HOME/.xsession file. Again users can customize this later. With xinit, the basic way is to create a user $HOME/.xinitrc file that your users can customize later. Some vendors use their own files in place of .xinitrc or .xsession. On SGI systems, for example, you'll typically use a $HOME/.sgisession file in place of .xsession. On Sun OpenWlndows systems, you'll typically use a $HOME/.openwm-init file instead of .xinitrc. Use the appropriate file, based on your system type and the method you choose to start X.

have fun and please post the results.
--
  Bernhard
Logged
peasthope
Full Member
***
Posts: 100


WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2013, 05:06:15 PM »

Another small detail which might help.  The aim is to bypass some of the overhead of the host desktop environment.

A telnet daemon can be running on the host system.  In my case, the Debian package openbsd-inetd provides /usr/sbin/in.telnetd.  There is a configuration line in /etc/inetd.conf to start the service.  With concerns for security, telnet is not commonly used.  Nevertheless it is faster than ssh and security can be addressed with appropriate /etc/hosts* or firewall.

With the telnetd running, UnixAos can open a terminal with "Desktops.OpenDoc telnet://<user>@<host>/" in the Oberon subsystem.  The terminal can be used just as any terminal emulator in the host.  For example these lines can be stored in the user's system tool.

nohup leafpad --display=:0 ~/<WorkingDirectory>/temp >> ~/.xsession-errors 2>&1 & disown
nohup lxterminal --display=:0 </dev/null >> ~/.xsession-errors 2>&1 & disown

MR+MM to the right of a line will open leafpad or another terminal, faster than using a menu in the host desktop.

This might be achieved more directly without telnet.  Also, in the LinuxAos rev.5406 here, <host> in the above command must be a name.  An IP address does not work.  I'm still learning.

Regards,                 ... Peter E.

« Last Edit: October 23, 2013, 05:13:07 PM by peasthope » Logged
fnecati
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 60


« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2013, 11:03:17 AM »

Quote
This might be achieved more directly without telnet.

My simple solution without error checking:

Code:
MODULE Host;

(*
Run host applications and commands from LinuxAos

note: similar module exist
for WinAos: Win32.WinApplication.Mod
for A2: WMApplications.Mod
*)

IMPORT Unix, Commands;

PROCEDURE Run*(context : Commands.Context); (* hostcommand *)
VAR cmdpar: ARRAY 256 OF CHAR;
BEGIN
IF context.arg.GetString(cmdpar) THEN
Unix.system(ADDRESSOF(cmdpar));
ELSE
context.error.String("no host command is given!"); context.error.Ln;
END;
END Run;

BEGIN
END Host.


SystemTools.DoCommands
Host.Run "ls *.txt > tmp.txt" ~
SystemTools.ShowFile "tmp.txt" ~
Notepad.Open "tmp.txt" ~
Host.Run "rm tmp.txt" ~
~


Host.Run "aos"~


Host.Run "gedit Hello.txt" ~

Host.Run "firefox http://www.ocp.inf.ethz.ch/" ~

SystemTools.Free Host ~

Logged
peasthope
Full Member
***
Posts: 100


WWW
« Reply #13 on: October 24, 2013, 04:50:06 PM »

Quote
My simple solution without error checking:

You implemented quicker than I could think.  Thanks!    ... Peter E.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2013, 04:55:14 PM by peasthope » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!